Futur Image - Accused #2: Walter Sisulu
play

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

about

The story of the struggle against Apartheid is symbolised by one man: Nelson Mandela. He came to public notice during a historic trial in 1963 and 1964. Mandela would have been a hundred years old in 2018. He was not alone at the trial.

Seven co- accused (five Blacks, one White and an ethnic Indian) were sentenced with him to hard labour for life. All had faced the threat of hanging. Yet at the risk of their lives, they had chosen to turn their trial into a political indictment of the segregationist regime. Nelson Mandela gave a speech from the dock and was not cross-examined.

So Walter Sisulu, the grey eminence of the movement, was the first co-defendant to take on the formidable prosecutor Percy Yutar. Sisulu, who had left school at the age of 14, started out at a serious disadvantage. Yet over the 5 days of the hearing, he ultimately succeeded in making his case in front of journalists from all over the world, as well as the diplomats attending the trial.

Today, with 256 hours of audio recordings of the hearings (recently unearthed and restored by France’s Institut National de l’Audiovisuel), we can relive that battle and, through those remarkable resources, (re) discover the story of the ANC’s fight against Apartheid. Look at here…

 

By Nicolas Champeaux et Gilles Porte, produced by Jérémy Pouilloux, Alexandre Hallier by La Générale de Production

creators

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

Nicolas Champeaux

Born in 1975, Nicolas Champeaux is a French-American journalist.  

producer & distributor

Producer:

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

La Générale de Production

Created in 2001 and directed by Alexandre Hallier and Jérémy Pouilloux, Générale de Production has produced since its creation about fifty films for television ... www.lageneraledeproduction.com/

Broadcaster:

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

ARTE 360

Original creations and innovative experiences to explore without moderation. https://www.arte.tv/sites/webproductions/category/vr/

Support:

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

Ville de Paris – Fonds Transmedia

In October 2015, Paris created a new fund for transmedia projects. https://www.paris.fr

awards

Plusieurs

format(s)

AR

Installation

VR

language(s)

Allemand
Anglais
Français

Futur Image - Accused #2: Walter Sisulu
play

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

à propos

L’histoire de la lutte contre l’apartheid ne retient qu’un seul homme : Nelson Mandela. Il s’est révélé au cours d’un procès historique (1963-1964). Mandela aurait eu cent ans en 2018. Mais Mandela n’était pas seul.

Sept co-accusés (cinq Noirs, un Blanc, un Indien) ont été condamnés avec lui au bagne à perpétuité. Tous risquaient la pendaison. Au péril de leur vie, ils ont choisi de transformer leurs procès en tribune politique contre le régime ségrégationniste. Nelson Mandela, qui a prononcé un discours depuis le banc des accusés, a été dispensé de contre-interrogatoire.

Walter Sisulu, Secrétaire général de l’ANC, et éminence grise du mouvement, a donc été le premier des co-accusés à affronter le redoutable procureur Percy Yutar. Sisulu, qui a abandonné l’école à l’âge de 14 ans, partait avec un sérieux handicap. Pourtant, au cours de 5 jours d’audience, il a fini par remporter son bras de fer devant des journalistes du monde entier et les diplomates présents à l’audience.

Aujourd’hui, 256 heures d’archives sonores des audiences – récemment exhumées et restaurées par l’INA – nous permettent de revivre ce face à face et (re)découvrir à travers ce témoignage exceptionnel l’histoire du combat de l’ANC contre l’apartheid.

Par ici

auteur-e-s

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

Porte Gilles

Gilles Porte est directeur de la photographie et réalisateur de films. Il a exercé son métier de directeur de la photographie pour près d’une trentaine de longs...  
Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

Nicolas Champeaux

Né en 1975, Nicolas Champeaux est franco-américain et journaliste.  

producteur & distributeur

Co-producteur:

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

Arte

Arte est une chaîne de service public qui met la créativité et la diversité culturelle européennes au cœur de ses programmes. Sa mission est de « concevoir, réa... https://www.arte.tv/sites/webproductions/category/vr/

Diffuseur:

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

ARTE 360

Des créations originales et des expériences innovantes à explorer sans modération. https://www.arte.tv/sites/webproductions/category/vr/

Soutien:

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

CNC

Centre national du cinéma et de l’image animée https://www.cnc.fr/

Soutien:

Accused #2: Walter Sisulu

Ville de Paris – Fonds Transmedia

En octobre 2015, la Ville de Paris a créé un nouveau fonds d’aide aux projets transmédia. https://www.paris.fr

Prix & sélection(s)


format(s)

AR

Installation

VR

langue(s)

Allemand
Anglais
Français